You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.
The Team

Well Done to all Award Winners

Well Done to all Award Winners

Share this post

A successful 2018/19 season was brought to an end last Friday night (May 31) when the club dinner was held in the Gorgie Suite at Tynecastle Stadium.

It was great to see so many familiar faces in attendance from all sections of WFC and beyond and everyone was entertained by former England hooker Brian Moore and Midlothian funny man Eric Davidson.

Director of Rugby Chris Hunter and Club Captain Graham Turnbull also did great work running the event - with work in the background by Fiona Sharman - and were helped to present some of the prizes by Ladies Club Captain Emily Cotterill.

The awards winners are listed below, with a special mention to teenagers Chris Bell and Ailie Tucker who have bight futures ahead of them.

Players of the Season:

1XV – Ross Graham

2XV – Chris Bell

3XV – Logan Palmer

Ladies XV – Molly Wright

Ladies XV ‘Best Newcomer’ – Ailie Tucker

Players’ Player of the Season:

1XV – Lee Millar

Other awards:

The Fuzz Murray trophy for the Sevens player of the year – Lewis Berg

The Fleming Trophy for the most improved young player (under 21) from any team during the season - Connor Boyle

The Carmichael Trophy for the player who has recorded the highest number of tries for the 1st XV during the season - Josh Rowland

The I A L Hogg Trophy to the member who has done most for the club during the season - Steve Lawrie

The Alastair Nimmo Trophy to the best former pupil of GWC playing at Watsonians - Murray Scott

The McNish Trophy for effort, attitude and ability - Lana Skeldon

Article by: Gary Heatly (GH Media)

Photograph from: Graham Gaw